Home What's New Club Archives Feedback Contact Us
Mangal Path
Jeevan Vigyan
Preksha Meditation
Jain Gyanshala
Children Corner
Art Gallery
Picture Gallery
Online Shop
Terapanth Club
Online Mantras
Other Related

Navkar Maha Mantra



A) The Conception of Arihanta : The Word Arihanta (Ari-hanta) means the destroyer (hanta) of enemy (Ari). The concept of Arihanta is defined as:

Atthaviham pi ya kammam aribhuyam hoi sayala jivanam

Tam kammam arihanta arihanta tena vuccanti


     Eight types of karmas (micro particles that adhere to the soul having energy to bound it) are the enemies of the soul in mundane body. The destroyers of these eight enemies in the form of karma are called arihantas.

     The most potent enemies of the soul are inner vices like infatuation, etc. These vices have been divided into eight groups and are called eight karmas. These eight karmas are the only foes of the soul. No one in this world has any enemy other than these karmas. The four strongest and vitiating karmas (the ghati-obscuring the inherent qualities of soul-karmas) are:

1.Mohaniya (illusory) : This includes attachment, greed, aversion and passions. Illusion is the worst enemy of the soul. It is the king of karmas.

. Antaraya (power hindering): This karma obstructs the development and spread of the powers of the soul.

3. Jnanavarana (Knowledge obstructing)
: The soul has infinite power of knowledge. But the Jnanavarana Karma impedes this power like a veil over the eyes.

4. Darsanavarana (perception obstructing)
: This obstructs the indistinguishable perception of common things.

: 4

The Jain system of purification of soul has formulated fourteen levels of these are termed as gunasthana. In order to destroy these four karma-enemies the mendicant ascends over the seventh (soul purification step) gunasthana where all the evil karmas are absent, pure meditation (the twelfth gunasthana)and feeling of detachment (the thirteenth gunasthana of freedom from attachment and aversion). He, then, defeats the four karma-enemies with the help of the bright and powerful rays of his pure penance and meditation. Becoming the conqueror of self, he attains the position of Arihanta After this, there manifests in the soul the divine light of the infinite quadrant of

(1) pure character (Ksayika caritra),
(2) Infinite potency (anta virya),
(3) Omniscience (Kewal Jnana),
(4) Pure perception (Kewal darsana).

This line Namo Arihantanam is visualized in white colour.

(B) The direct view of the Lord Arihanta :

Read observing the Illustration : Possessing the infinite quadrant, the Arihantas are unique individuals having many divine superlatives with limitless grandeur. When they sit in the

Samavasarana (the religions assembly of a Tirthamkara) they are adomed with eight felicitations namely :

1. The Ashoka tree,
2. The triple canopy,
3. The divine throne,
4. The pair of divine whisks,
5. The divine shower of flowers,
6. The divine orb, bright as the sun,
7. The divine drums, and
8. The divine speech, clearly audible upto one kosa or approximately 9.09 miles and comprehensible to all living beings.

       In his assembly sit angels, demons, human beings and the creatures who are natural enemies like lion and goat, snake and mongoose, peacock and snake, forgetting their enmity and comprehending his discourse in their respective languages.

      Drought, flood, storm, epidemic and other such natural calamities as well as r and other man-made problems do not occur around the place where the Lord Arihanta dwells.

      The meditation of the divine form of the Lord Arihanta, adorned with these twelve attributes, evokes benign feelings. Even an enemy is effused with the feelings of love, respect and friendship. Fear and other such feelings are removed. Peace and strength grow. Feeling of detachment surfaces.

      First, look at the illustration attentively, then close the eyes and try to visualize the form of the lord Arihanta. With every breath utter the line Namo Arihantanam and practice to absorb that form in your mind. Continue to repeat 'Namo Arihantanam' with every inhalation and exhalation. This would help the growth of the feeling of submission towards the Lord Arihanta. Proximity with the Lord will be experience. A sensation of union with the Arihant will be felt.

Visit more links related to Terapanth:

Brief Intro
Arhat Vandana
Terapanthi Mahasabha
Terapanth Yuvak Parishad
Terapanth Vikas Parisad
Terapanth Mahila Mandal
Pawas Prawas

Click to see more.....

Navkaar Mahamantra
Aradhyaya Gurudev Upasana
Shri Painsathia Yantra
Shantiwardhak Mantra
Ghyan Wridhi Mantra
Smriti, Samridhi, Sanwardhak Mantra
Aishwarya, Samarthya sanwardhak Mantra
Sanyam-Shakti Wardhak Mantra
Akshin Siddhi Mantra
Sadhaya Siddhidayak Mantra
Brahamcharya Vikas Mantra
Kashay Vijay Mantra
Adhayatmic Vikas Mantra
Sawasthya Sanwardhak Mantra
Vighn Nivarak Mantra
Bhay-Nivarak Mantra
Byadhi- Vinashak Mantra
Upsarg Nivarak Mantra
Aadhi-Byadhi-Upadhi Suraksha Kawach